I am out of ideas


This is what we have been struggling with a lot lately. We assume the behavior is a cry for attention. However, we don’t want to reward the behavior. The consequences are not working and we are running out of ideas.

We have put a lock on our bedroom door, the pantry, and the freezer because someone is stealing. We do not starve them by any means. I can never pin point which one it actually is because I do not know which of them to actually believe.

It makes us both crabby which in turn makes them crabby which makes this place miserable for everyone. I honestly do not know what to do with any of them.

I feel like I am failing as a parent because I cannot seem to curb their behavior, I don’t know what is wrong with them, and I don’t know how to help them. I feel like I am failing as a wife because I can’t fix it.

I have one last final for this semester and it is tomorrow morning. I am trying to make my page of notes, but I cannot focus since we found out someone got into Alex’s briefcase and stole his cookie sometime today. This is the second time someone has stolen his cookie. Why? I wish I knew. I wish I had some genius ideas, but unfortunately I do not.

I graduate this weekend. I still have another semester left, but I can finally see the finish line and it is so nice. I just wish I wasn’t so nervous about having to leave the children unattended. It should not be a problem for children of their ages. 8-16, they should be fine, but we can’t seem to trust them.

Alex bought me a new/used car today for Graduation/Mother’s Day/my birthday. I love it!

I still don’t know how I got him, or why he chose me, but I am glad he did.

Yes, I know I am rambling, but I am trying to get to a point that I can focus on the last of my notes page. Now, I am exhausted and not sure that I really have anything left to put on it. I still have some space. I may put a little more on some of the cases, but maybe in the morning.

I just don’t know what to do about these kids anymore, I really don’t. I can’t prove who did it. What am I going to do, ground all the ones that were home without us? Oh, wait, that was all of them at some point today, except #2. Why do they keep freaking pulling this shit?!?!

I know Alex reads these so I am scheduling it to publish after both of our days have started. I don’t want it to be the first thing he sees when he wakes up. I love him and I hope he knows that. I hate how much pain and frustration my baggage has brought him.

One thought on “I am out of ideas

  1. For those that feel it was just a cookie, yes it was, just a cookie, but it is the principle behind all we have been going through with them and the lack of respect for what we want/need. The first was for my lunch at work after they had already had theirs drinking over the weekend, guess they felt that we didn’t deserve them. This week was the one that was supposed to be my snack after a fasting blood draw, not just a cookie, but oatmeal fiber/protein bar. That and the fact that they dug through my briefcase to find it and take it. I’m out of ideas, if I behaved this way as a child, I know what the punishment would have been. The grounding, extra chores, and loss of electronics etc is not doing anything. They All say they learned and will not do it again, but that is not the case. This time it was less than four days before #3 ended up grounded again for his choices, and it wasn’t the cookie, an action that could have had consequences that could follow him for the rest of his life.

    Alex

Don't bite your tongue...talk to me

