Apologies


20140103-222200.jpg

I have thought a great deal about apologies lately. What good does an apology do if there is no intention of changing anything? Basically, an apology without intention of changing is just a way of saying the person apologizing feels bad too. I don’t need to know you feel bad, it doesn’t change anything. Depending on what it is, might make me feel worse.

For example:
When #2 is pestering #3 and says I’m sorry, he’s not sorry he hurt his brother, he’s sorry he got caught. He has no intention of changing. He will do it again.
When #1 apologizes for her attitude, again she’s sorry she got in trouble. She will do it again because she doesn’t care.

How many times have I told someone I am sorry and not tried to fix it? Who is an apology really for?

Don't bite your tongue...talk to me

