Lost Love


There are some things you learn best in calm, some in storm. –Willa Cather

I came across this quote today at the beginning of the new book I am reading, Home Front. I do not really have much to say about it, except that it resonated with me.

Took Alex to the doctor today. It was…awkward, I hated it. I miss him so much. I miss us. I miss falling into his arms and knowing that I was safe. I miss dreaming and planning. I miss his smile. I miss his touch. I miss his smell. I miss the way he would look at me when I walked in the room. I miss feeling his desire for me, even if it was only to hold me. I miss hearing his voice. I miss the texts first thing when he woke up and last thing before he went to sleep. I miss the random texts and emails throughout the day just to let me know he was thinking about me. I miss how he missed me so much he would ask for a picture and he would send me one too. I miss his excitement for the next time we got to see each other, even if it was only for a few minutes. I feel all of this heartache and this empty spot in my heart, but what did I do?? I watched The Vow tonight.

I had heard such great things about the movie so I checked it out from the library last week. I put it in tonight because I wanted to finish another square for my blanket and it was the shortest of the three I had gotten. I had no intention of blogging tonight, but the movie had two quotes that really hit hard. Both of these quotes came from the same scene and boy was it a powerful one. If I say anymore, I may ruin it for those who have not watched it.

I’m not trying to hurt you. It’s just that I’m tired of disappointing you. -Paige, The Vow

How do you look at the girl you love and tell yourself its time to walk away? -Leo, The Vow

If you haven’t seen the movie, it is an amazing story about love. It is about what we are willing to sacrifice for the one we love to be happy. It combines two of my all-time favorite romances, The Notebook and 50 First Dates. Love is an amazing thing. It can make a person do crazy things.

I love the idea of reliving your love story. Going back to all the memorable places from your time together. I think it would make a great date night for any couple, but especially one that is struggling. The couple could each write down the top three places. As they visit each place, the person who suggested it can tell what makes that place so important to their love story. This would serve two purposes. The first is obvious, rekindle the couple’s love for each other, the passion. The second purpose is for each to see the love story from the other person’s point of view. If it was me, I would have such a hard time picking three.

  1. There is the school where we first met.
  2. There is the Starbucks where I first saw him as more than a classmate.
  3. There is the park where we parked.
  4. The Mexican restaurant we went to our first date.
  5. The bar we ate dinner at after my first motorcycle ride.
  6. His bedroom where he gave me my ring.
  7. The park where we first got all the kids together.
  8. The parking lot behind Wal-Mart where he first kissed me.

See? There can’t be just three. Every love story has speed bumps. Some love stories have a brick wall. Some love stories have U-turns. Some love stories just sit and wait.

I just realized that that first quote actually ties into the rest of my post. How much you love is one of those things that sometimes is learned in the calm, but sometimes you in the storm.

One thought on “Lost Love

  1. Pingback: i miss love.. | Troubled

Don't bite your tongue...talk to me

