A Visit With An Old Friend


When I was a sophomore in high school, I was supposed to go to Prom with my then boyfriend (now husband). When I found out the night before that he would not be attending, I called a boy from school that I knew did not have a date. CC agreed to go with me and even showed up with a rose. I will never forget that night. Looking back, I feel guilty that I never gave CC a chance. Everytime he tried to make even the slightest move on me, I shut him down because I had a boyfriend. We had so much fun that night. Prom was in another town and I think that we had more fun trying to get to the prom than we had at the actual prom.

When my boyfriend and I broke up later that year, I tried to get together with CC. I was unsuccessful. At the end of that school year, I moved.

It wasn’t until about three years ago that I talked to CC again. I enjoy talking to CC because I feel like I can tell him anything. I can talk to him about anything. We have discussed that we wish things had been different between us. I know that he wishes we could be together, but I also know that he is enough of a friend that I can talk to him about anything. If I need to vent, he will listen.

CC texted me to tell me that he was in town. He also wanted to know if I could come see him. Unfortunately, the only way to do it was for me to stop by on my way to class this morning.

I was nervous. I had not seen him in about 12 years. When I got there, he gave me a hug which sent tingles down my spine. We went up to his room. We both sat down. I sat on the edge of the bed because I knew I could not get comfortable. That would be dangerous. CC sat next to me and brushed his hand across my back, again with the tingles. We chatted for a few minutes about my house (he’s an attorney).

Then I left for class. I almost stayed, but I did not want to take any chances. I have not felt like that in a very long time. It was weird, but nice. I wish my husband made me feel that way…

Don't bite your tongue...talk to me

